Strikeforce Adds Gilbert Melendez vs Pat Healy, Nate Marquardt vs Tarec Saffiedine Title Fights to January Event


Gilbert Melendez

  • 21-2 MMA / 11-1 Strikeforce Record
  • 7 Fight Win Streak
  • Notable Wins: Josh Thomson (x2), Shinya Aoki, Tatsuya Kawajiri


Pat Healy

  • 28-16 MMA / 6-1 Strikeforce Record
  • 5 Fight Win Streak
  • Notable Wins: Maximo Blanco, Caros Fodor, Mizuto Hirota



Nate Marquardt

  • 32-10-2 MMA / 1-0 Strikeforce Record
  • 2 Fight Win Streak
  • Notable Wins: Demian Maia, Rousimar Palhares, Tyron Woodley


Tarec Saffiedine

  • 13-3 MMA /3-1 Strikeforce Record
  • 3 Fight Win Streak
  • Notable Wins: Scott Smith, Roger Bowling, Tyler Stinson


Strikeforce: Melendez vs Healy

January 12th, 2013

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Chesapeake Energy Arena


Strikeforce lightweight champion, Gilbert Melendez looks to continue his dominance over the 155-pound division and extend his winning streak to eight. He earned the interim-Strikeforce title in August of 2009 with a third round TKO victory over Mitsuhiro Ishida and became the sole champion when he unified the belts with a unanimous decision victory over Josh Thomson three months later. He has since defended the title four times, including wins over Shinya Aoki, Tatsuya Kawajiri, and Jorge Masvidal.

Pat Healy retained his number one contender status with a controversial unanimous decision win over Mizuto Hirota at Strikeforce: Rockhold vs Kennedy earlier this year. The win was his fifth consecutive victory, which also included key victories over Maximo Blanco and Caros Fodor.

Former UFC fighter, Nate Marquardt became Strikeforce’s welterweight champion in his promotional debut with a stunning fourth round knockout over previously undefeated Tyron Woodley in July of this year. The fight was his first since being the released from the UFC for testing positive for a banned substance just a day before his scheduled fight with Rick Story at UFC Live on Versus 4.

Tarec Saffiedine has earned a shot at Strikeforce gold on the heels of a three-fight win streak, which includes decision victories over Scott Smith, Tyler Stinson, and Roger Bowling. He’s won six out of his last seven fights, with his only defeat being a unanimous decision loss to Tyron Woodley in January of 2011.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s