Takanori Gomi vs Diego Sanchez, Dong Hyun Kim vs Siyar Bahadurzada Added to UFC on Fuel TV 8

Takanori Gomi


Takanori Gomi

  • 34-8 MMA / 3-3 UFC Record
  • 2 Fight Win Streak
  • Notable Wins: Tatsuya Kawajiri, Tyson Griffin, Mac Danzig

Diego Sanchez


Diego Sanchez

  • 23-5 MMA / 12-5 UFC Record
  • Won 2 of Last 3 Fights
  • Notable Wins: Clay Guida, Paulo Thiago, Martin Kampmann


Dong Hyun kim


Dong Hyun Kim

  • 16-2-1 MMA / 7-2 UFC Record
  • Won 2 of Last 3 Fights
  • Notable Wins: TJ Grant, Paulo Thiago, Nate Diaz

Siyar Bahadurzada


Siyar Bahadurzada

  • 21-4-1 MMA / 1-0 UFC Record
  • 7 Fight Win Streak
  • Notable Wins: Carlos Alexandre Pereira, John Alessio, Paulo Thiago


UFC on Fuel TV 8

March 3rd, 2013

Saitama, Japan

Saitama Super Arena


Takanori Gomi put together back-to-back wins for the first time since October of 2009 with a Split Decision victory over Mac Danzig at UFC on Fuel TV 6. Gomi also defeated Eiji Mitsuoka via second round TKO in the UFC’s return to Japan in February earlier this year. Before the Mitsuoka win, Gomi was on the verge of getting released, losing three out of his first four fights after signing with the UFC in March of 2010.

Diego Sanchez returns to the lightweight division after a 2-2 stint as a welterweight. The last time Sanchez was a 155-pounder, he fought BJ Penn for UFC gold, losing in the fifth round by TKO to the former champion. As a welterweight, Sanchez won decisions against Paulo Thiago and Martin Kampmann, but lost to John Hathaway and Jake Ellenberger, also by decision.

Dong Hyun Kim rebounded nicely from a rib injury suffered in the early seconds of the first round against Demian Mia, with a dominant unanimous decision victory against Paulo Thiago at UFC on Fuel TV 6. Kim has amassed an impressive record of 7-2 in one of the UFC’s deepest divsions, also including wins over TJ Grant, Amir Sadollah, and Nate Diaz.

Siyar Bahadurzada made quite the first impression in his UFC debut, dispatching of the usually very resilient Paulo Thiago in just 42-seconds by knockout. The win was his seventh in a row, which also includes a first round TKO victory over UFC-veteran John Alessio at a United Glory event.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s