Mauricio Rua vs Antonio Rogerio Nogueira, Dan Henderson vs Rashad Evans Targeted for UFC 161

Mauricio Rua


Mauricio ‘Shogun’ Rua

  • 21-7 MMA / 5-5 UFC Record
  • Lost 2 of Last 3 Fights
  • Notable Wins: Lyoto Machida, Forrest Griffin, Brandon Vera

Antonio Rogerio Nogueira


Antonio Rogerio Nogueira

  • 21-5 MMA / 4-2 UFC Record
  • 2 Fight Win Streak
  • Notable Wins: Alistair Overeem (x2), Dan Henderson, Rashad Evans


Dan Henderson


Dan Henderson

  • 29-9 MMA / 6-3 UFC Record
  • Won 4 of Last 5 Fights
  • Notable Wins: Wanderlei Silva, Fedor Emilianenko, Maurico ‘Shogun’ Rua

Rashad Evans


Rashad Evans

  • 17-3-1 MMA / 12-3-1 UFC Record
  • 2 Fight Losing Streak
  • Notable Wins: Forrest Griffin, Quinton Jackson, Phil Davis


UFC 161

June 15th, 2013

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

MTS Centre


Mauricio ‘Shogun’ Rua lost for the second time in three fights at UFC on FOX 5, dropping a unanimous decision to rising contender Alexander Gustafsson. A fourth round TKO victory over Brandon Vera at UFC on FOX 4, put Shogun back on the winning track after losing a unanimous decision to Dan Henderson back in November of 2011, which is widely considered one of the greatest fights in MMA history.

Antonio Rogerio Nogueira put himself back in the top echelon of the UFC’s light heavyweight division with an upset win over Rashad Evans at UFC 156. The win was his second in a row, including a first round TKO victory over Tito Ortiz.

Dan Henderson lost his chance at Jon Jones and the UFC light heavyweight title, dropping a fairly uneventful split decision to Lyoto Machida at UFC 157. The loss snapped a four-fight win streak, including victories over Fedor Emelianenko, Rafael ‘Fejao’ Cavalcante, and Mauricio ‘Shogun’ Rua.

Rashad Evans needs a win to stay relevant among the elite in the 205-pound division following two straight decision losses to champion Jon Jones and Antonio Rogerio Nogueira. Evans earned a chance to regain his title in April of last year, following four straight victories in the octagon, including wins over Quinton ‘Rampage’ Jackson, Phil Davis, and Tito Ortiz.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s