Lucas Martins Out; Aljamain Sterling vs Cody Gibson Slated for UFC 170

Aljamain Sterling

Aljamain Sterling 

  • 8-0 MMA / UFC Debut
  • 8 Fight Win Streak
  • Notable Wins: Claudio Ledesma, Sean Santella, Joel Roberts

Cody Gibson

Cody Gibson

  • 11-3 MMA / UFC Debut
  • 6 Fight Win Streak
  • Notable Wins: Walel Watson, Andrew Whitney, Chad George


UFC 170

February 22nd, 2014

Las Vegas, Nevada

Mandalay Bay Events Center


Top ranked bantamweight, Aljamian Sterling, finally signs with the UFC following a perfect 8-0 record to begin his career. Notable victories include a decision win over flyweight prospect, Sean Santella at a CFFC 11, and a first round submission win over Joel Roberts last November.

Cody Gibson won his seventh straight fight in November of last year, earning a unanimous decision victory over Evan Esguerra at Tachi Palace 17. Other notable wins during the streak include a decision nod against Andrew Whitney and a first round submission win over WEC-veteran Chad George.



Tachi Palace Fights 17 Quick Results

Tachi Palace Fights Logo


Full Card:

  • Russell Doane def. Jared Papazian via TKO (Elbows) – Round 4, 2:30
  • Nate Loughran def. Kito Andrews via Unanimous Decision
  • Jeremiah Labiano def. Adam Calderon via Triangle Choke – Round 1, 3:30
  • Joe Soto def. Cory Vombaur via Guillotine Choke – Round 2, 4:36
  • Randall Wallace def. Kenny Ento via Unanimous Decision
  • Cody Gibson def. Evan Esguerra via Unanimous Decision
  • Manuel Quezada def. Jerod Brown via TKO (Punches) – Round 1, 1:18
  • Anthony Ruiz def. Collin Hart via Split Decision
  • Darren Crisp def. Ryan Reneau via Triangle Choke – Round 1, 2:18
  • Marion Reneau def. Leslie Rodriguez via TKO (Punches) – Round 1, 1:24

Titan Fighting Championships 24 Quick Results


  • Anthony Johnson def. Esteves Jones via TKO (Punches) – Round 2, 0:51
  • Braulio Estima def. Chris Holland via Arm-Triangle Choke – Round 1, 3:21
  • Brian Davidson def. John DeVall via Submission (Strikes) – Round 2, 3:27
  • Cody Gibson def. Andrew Whitney via Unanimous Decision
  • Matt Foster def. Matt Uhde via Unanimous Decision
  • Adam Stickey def. Jose Vega via Triangle Choke – Round 1, 3:23


  • Jeremy Smith def. TJ Brittin via Unanimous Decision
  • Josh Pfeifer def. John Ford via Unanimous Decision
  • Antonio Martinez def. DeAllen Hicks via Unanimous Decision
  • Steven Graham def. Ben Louchious via Split Decision
  • Shawn Maynard def. Keith Curtis via Unanimous Decision